I Smell a Rat……

the-procession-of-the-trojan-horse-in-troy-1773_jpgLarge-615x290

Angel Eyes is gone.

I smell a rat.

She said, she’d see me on Monday.

We’d had a great afternoon on Thursday, dying my hair.

But  her boss rang on Saturday.

Angel Eyes, couldn’t do anymore shifts, as she’d lose her tax credits .

Not even a single hour ?

Why then,was she the only worker offered.

When she and her boss arrived 5 days ago, in answer to my email?

And, why didn’t she/he, mention her tax credits, on offering her hours?

Or , she in  her long chats on Thursday.

More crucially, where do we go from here?

Only one other agency, got back.

And they too, could be nobbled.

I analyse, my conversations, with Angel Eyes.

She came on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.

I recall, she only started asking  odd questions on Thursday.

Lodge/Fist lady, had done the same, despite my garrulous outpouring of Issy information.

At the time, they had irritated, and upset me.

She had opened her arms to offer a hug

I’d asked why the lists of questions, she’d said, she wasn’t good at conversations.

I’d felt guilty.

I now, reflect on Angel Eye’s questions.

I feel like Miss Marble.

And annoyed, I am forced to be so paranoid.

But this de facto beleaguerment, is worse than fiction.

Do you like a drink?’

‘Are you frightened of Issy ?

‘All this is bound to put a strain on your relationship (with Seamus)’.

How does Issy get on with her sister Eleanor, oh, I have already asked you that one’.

All innocuous enough.

But now, indicative of a fishing brief..

I  think of the many poor homes, unable to buy  arrays of cleaning products, without space, clothes, bedding, and healthy food,surrounded by neighbours too willing to spy.

They are sitting ducks.

So Angel Eye’s boss arrived last night, to finalise the ‘package’.

He is now our ‘Measured Lady’.

I ask why our pot of money, cannot be given to us, to find support.

He blinds me with science, and stonewalling.

How can this be personalised services?

He shows me the CV a lady, sent to him in November, and emphasises, she works ‘independently‘, for an old couple.

He arranges a visit .

As usual, more time is wasted on administration, and, needless introductions, than support.

He spouts the standard tripe, of needing to find someone, we are happy with.

But, as with Measured Lady, there is no other candidate.

I don’t know what to say.

There, are the usual awkward silences.

I explain my dilemma.

But, the elephant in the room is ignored.

The lady is coming tonight.

The social  workers tomorrow,

For their weekly ‘surveillance’, as the package boss calls it.

Nice life.

Issy sleeps, and is happy.

Apparently, largely irrelevant, but a good little earner.

One Comment

  1. You so are not paranoid, this is the reality of how this dreadful system works, everyone keeps an eye on you and reports back. Very sad that this has happened, that she has come into your home and been so nice and now this, you can’t trust anyone and this is really sad. All you want is some support and you are being treated like you do not matter nor Issy. What an unjust system I don’t know how you keep going it’s just so heartbreaking what they have and are doing to you as a family. Emotionally draining.

    Take care love & best wishes Sophie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

